Not joined yet? Register for free and enjoy features such as alerts, private messaging and viewing latest posts and topics.

Z from Tennessee facelift

First port of call for new members
Zziipp

Post by Zziipp » Sun Feb 19, 2017 2:31 am

Hello everyone. My name is Chris Ledford, I am a newbie from East Tennessee. I made one post about putting new tires and rims on my car but I want to start a thread showing this project from beginning to end. Just to fill you in, I recently purchased a 2003 Z4 Roadster 2.5 pre-facelift from a couple who did not care for the car. You can say I rescued the car, that would be a good statement. All in all the car is in good shape it just wasn't service properly in my opinion. Just looking it over I'm going to have to redo brakes and rotors, struts shocks, another preventive maintenance items that you do when you're a good car owner. It was obviously parked for an extended period of time with the driver side in the sun because the driver paint is faded. That's one thing I don't like about silver is it's bad for fading. However she's going to be getting fresh paint so that's not an issue. I'm very satisfied with the way the car handles and performs and I'm looking forward to showing the car some love and affection by applying my touch to make it my personal car. The previous owner thought the car had a leaking front main seal but my best friend is a BMW mechanic and he assured me it was only the gasket around the oil filter canister. Sure enough, I get it home and that little $6 gasket, which had obviously been leaking for quite some time, was the heart of the oil leak problem. The front bumper looks like someone shot it with a shotgun! I've never seen so many stone chips on a vehicle in my life. I've ordered a Rieger front bumper, side skirts and a rear diffuser to address this problem. I just love the way the car looks on the website with their add ons. I know that may be a sin to some Z owners to change those things but as I said, to e