Not joined yet? Register for free and enjoy features such as alerts, private messaging and viewing latest posts and topics.

Daily driver... In reality.

2003 - 2009, roadster, coupe, facelift
Pabby1980

Post by Pabby1980 » Sat May 20, 2017 1:46 am

I'm a complete novice with the Z4, just bought mine a few weeks ago.

LOVE the car, and after I realised I wasn't pushing the clutch down far enough to engage each gear, and after seeing the orange light in the dash reminding me "you're not that good' when I go round a roundabout too fast, I've started to wonder whether or not it can be a daily driver, and if I should get rid of my trusty Ford.

So, my question is; do I need winter tyres? Do I need a hardtop? In essence, how do you guys take this car from being an impractical sports car, to something that will do everything a Ford Fiesta will do, minus the back seats?

Which tyres can go all year?

If I need winter tyres, which ones?

Hardtop at £800...worth it?

Sorry for the barrage of questions, but it's a lovely place to be in the zed, and if I can work out how to be in that position as often as possible....I'll be a happy man!

Thanks in advance for any advice. :)

jan_tekin

Post by jan_tekin » Sat May 20, 2017 5:16 am

Mine was my daily, had it 6/7 years and done over 80.000 miles in it. Never has a set of winters or a hard top, did have a garage though :P

It only came impractical when my family became three :D
Current: M135i
Sold:3.0lsi Sport Roadster, Xenons,Heated seats, blutooth, Hi Fi,Comfort Pack, Cruse Control, Stormworks ST1
Gear Knob, Stubby, KW V2s, 224s

sw4nny

Post by sw4nny » Sat May 20, 2017 5:27 am

I have used mine as a daily for the last 4 years and around 40 k miles.
I would suggest a decent wet weather tyre
For all year round but if you want to stretch to it get a set of spare wheels with winter tyres on and use decent summer tyres.