Not joined yet? Register for free and enjoy features such as alerts, private messaging and viewing latest posts and topics.

Chase (Sweeping) Indicators - Quick reference

2003 - 2009, roadster, coupe, facelift
thanatu55

Post by thanatu55 » Mon Jul 17, 2017 6:58 pm

A few people have asked me about the indicator setup on my headlights. Now I'm no electrician and unfortunately I didn't record a step by step process but hopefully this brief reference piece might help a few people who are interested. Please note this requires cutting open your headlights with a dremmel sealing them back up with silicone.

The halo conversion has been done to death on here already so I won't go into it here. I simply followed one of the few guides on here, but for anyone who isn't so clued up on wiring up your drl's I used this http://drldimmer.weebly.com/ little gizmo which does much of the work for you. This will switch on your halo's or whatever you choose to use as your drl's when you switch on your ignition, and it will also dim them by 50% when you switch on your headlights at night (required for road legality). This is much safer than alternative wiring harnesses that operate according to the power drain on your battery.

Since my lights are sealed up and I don't fancy prising them open again I have tried to show what I can with some bits I have left over, which may or may not be useful to anybody. I spent quite a lot getting these over here from the States, there are cheaper alternatives but I can't vouch for their quality or reliability.

First off, when you actually look at what you're getting for your money it's all rather underwhelming. You will receive a white rubber sheath which is a lot longer and a lot thicker than I had expected, and will therefore need cutting down and shaping in order to fit into your headlights.