Getting Aux, do i need to program it by the BMW dealer?

Post Reply
brainstorm
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2016 3:47 pm

Getting Aux, do i need to program it by the BMW dealer?

Post by brainstorm » Thu Jun 30, 2016 3:59 pm

Looking to buy this: https://www.fcpeuro.com/products/bmw-au ... 2110142174

Or is there another place that you can recomend that shippes to Sweden?

I talked to a BMW dealer here in Sweden, but they say that whatever aux cable i buy i need to program it for (180 Dollars or 133 pounds)

Is that true?

I dont have AUX when i press the mode button.

BMW Z4 3.0i from April 2004

User avatar
mr.tourette
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1243
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2015 9:16 am
Location: north wales

Getting Aux, do i need to program it by the BMW dealer?

Post by mr.tourette » Thu Jun 30, 2016 4:54 pm

no it doesn't need programming
if its got tits or tyres..its trouble :D

Image Image

Online
User avatar
Lynchy
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 2498
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 2:31 pm
Location: Kent

Getting Aux, do i need to program it by the BMW dealer?

Post by Lynchy » Thu Jun 30, 2016 5:18 pm

I've just fitted an aux cable with a female end to the plastic cover under the dashboard and it cost £4.99 delivered . Got it off EBay with the resistor already part of the cable . Once it was fitted Aux automatically appears on your radio .

brainstorm
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2016 3:47 pm

Getting Aux, do i need to program it by the BMW dealer?

Post by brainstorm » Thu Jun 30, 2016 6:23 pm

So the resistor is the answer. Im looking at eBay, but how do i know it has a resistor?

Online
User avatar
Lynchy
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 2498
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 2:31 pm
Location: Kent

Getting Aux, do i need to program it by the BMW dealer?

Post by Lynchy » Thu Jun 30, 2016 6:33 pm

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B01 ... UTF8&psc=1

Here's the link , I actually got this off Amazon but EBay have them as well . You can see the resistor integrated in the cable . Some of the cables may have the resistor taped up .

User avatar
bluespit
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1161
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 1:01 am
Location: Near Chester

Getting Aux, do i need to program it by the BMW dealer?

Post by bluespit » Sat Sep 03, 2016 12:53 pm

if you fit this do you lose the CD changer function?
Too many toys and not enough time to play

ChrisN53
Member
Member
Posts: 293
Joined: Tue May 26, 2015 9:59 pm

Getting Aux, do i need to program it by the BMW dealer?

Post by ChrisN53 » Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:31 pm

How easy is it to get to the plug to fit?

Online
User avatar
Lynchy
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 2498
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 2:31 pm
Location: Kent

Getting Aux, do i need to program it by the BMW dealer?

Post by Lynchy » Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:47 pm

No, you don't lose your CD changer.
Plugs into the back of your radio so you need to pull it out .

User avatar
elevensies
Member
Member
Posts: 357
Joined: Mon Feb 29, 2016 11:38 pm

Getting Aux, do i need to program it by the BMW dealer?

Post by elevensies » Mon Sep 05, 2016 5:06 pm

i like the bmw option though of replacing the cigarette box thing

not for 80 quid mind you :tumbleweed:

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests