Not joined yet? Register for free and enjoy features such as alerts, private messaging and viewing latest posts and topics.

GT86 --> Z4_ _ _? Help needed from Leeds

Buying and selling Z4's (VEHICLE SALES ONLY) (private sales only, no traders)
DataMark

Post by DataMark » Wed Apr 19, 2017 6:04 pm

Hi All,

Bit of a newbie here, but I thought I'd post as I've just sold my GT86 and have been thinking about moving into a straight six engined Z4. My very kind brother (hi if you're reading this) let me take out his Z4MC which I loved and he's gently persuading me to get one too. I've had quite a few RWD cars before (Exige, Elise SC, Cayman S, Clio V6, etc etc), but the noise from his Z4MC was something else.

I can pretty much drive / fly to any location for the right car, but I've spotted one (a non-M car) right on my doorstep so wondered if anyone on here might know it. Are the 3 litre cars good fun too?
http://www.autotrader.co.uk/classified/ ... 3163353263

I'd quite like a convertible - has anyone seen any good ones that are currently available?

Mark

maxman

Post by maxman » Wed Apr 19, 2017 6:49 pm

With your car history you would find a 3.0 a bit of a let down ,go for a z4m.

DataMark

Post by DataMark » Wed Apr 19, 2017 7:06 pm

maxman wrote: Wed Apr 19, 2017 6:49 pm With your car history you would find a 3.0 a bit of a let down ,go for a z4m.
Possibly, but I found the Cayman a bit too quick for me (or rather I found myself using all the throttle as often as possible, so frequently found myself doing silly speeds). The 220bhp Elise was nice, but the 200bhp on the GT86 wasn't quick enough (due to the weight difference).

I guess I don't want to rule out a non-M car unless they are significantly different. Is there much in it?

I've just realised I might be opening a can of worms with that comment, but hopefully just a small one.

mr.tourette
Lifer
Lifer

Post by mr.tourette » Wed Apr 19, 2017 9:07 pm