Not joined yet? Register for free and enjoy features such as alerts, private messaging and viewing latest posts and topics.

Tyres?

Alloy wheels and tyre discussion
Eddy Matthews

Tyres?

Post by Eddy Matthews » Wed Sep 27, 2017 9:30 pm

I'm new to my Z4, having only owned it for three weeks, but from what I've heard most people seem to change from runflats to normal tyres... for a few reasons, price, and handling seem to be the main ones - So a few questions for those that have done it....

1. Does it help with tramlining? Going over the central road markings certainly causes bad tramling on my car, but otherwise it handles fine.

2. Does it give a slightly softer ride than runflats?

3. What about the lack of a spare wheel - What do you use? Get a spare wheel if so where to fit it? Use an electric pump and some tyre "gunk" in case of a puncture?

My car is on 18" wheels (which I don't want to change!), so any help or advice would be appreciated...

I'm in no hurry as my tyres have plenty of life left in them and I don't beleive in just throwing money away for the sake of it, but I would like to know what to expect when the time comes to change tyres.

Regards
Eddy

mr wilks
Legend
Legend

Tyres?

Post by mr wilks » Wed Sep 27, 2017 9:55 pm

This a wind up ? :?
3 ZMRs
3 E89s
5 Si coupes
5 Si roadsters
997 C4
TTRS
F82 M4
MK7 Golf Gti
current Bmw 6 Gran Turismo

buzyg
Legend
Legend

Tyres?

Post by buzyg » Wed Sep 27, 2017 11:19 pm

1. Yes

2. Yes

3. No, only place a spare will just about fit is the passenger seat. You will need. A jack, A wrench, a repair kit. see flea bay. and a compressor. Standard on the ///M. or you could use a can of gunk, but I have not tried that stuff myself. :thumbsup:

Oh and a Roadside rescue policy is also a life saver.

Ignor Mr Wilks, it's probably his hormones, he may be expecting a new Zed. :wink:

Mr Tidy
Legend
Legend

Tyres?

Post by Mr Tidy » Wed Sep 27, 2017 11:31 pm