Not joined yet? Register for free and enjoy features such as alerts, private messaging and viewing latest posts and topics.

petrol normal unleaded or Premium?

Specific discussion about the E89 2009 Z4 (sDrive35is, sDrive35i, sDrive30i, sDrive23i)
paul1969

Post by paul1969 » Fri Dec 30, 2016 8:42 am

I'm new to this I have only ever read the forums that other's have posted so this is my first lol.

I own a SDrive 2.5ltr which is a 2011. I've owned the car for just over 8 months and at the moment I'm just using normal unleaded fuel from my local Morrisons supermarket and have since buying the car.

Can anyone tell me if I am doing the right thing or should I be using a higher grade fuel and if so any recommendations to which one would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

LewisB

Post by LewisB » Fri Dec 30, 2016 8:57 am

Hi Paul,

I'm sure someone will come along shortly with their expertise but generally what you find with supermarket fuel across the board is that it is of a base standard. I think it will have to meet a British Standard before sale.

Generally places like Shell, which is my preference for all my cars, add additives to the fuel which generally creates better performance...... I believe. It should also keep your engine 'cleaner'.

Hope that's a good starter!

Lewis.
Z4 3.0si Sport Coupe - Ruby Black - Champagne Nappa leather - my weekend drive......

paul1969

Post by paul1969 » Fri Dec 30, 2016 9:06 am

Hi Lewis,

I find that the best advice is from people like yourself who drive the cars.

Thanks for the reply!

Paul.

flybobbie
Lifer
Lifer

Post by flybobbie » Fri Dec 30, 2016 9:09 am

My 23i runs well on Shell standard unleaded, but seems a bit flat on the cheaper super market stuff.
Occasionally I put in the Shell nitro for it's cleaning properties and again seems to run slightly better on it, but pricey.

paul1969

Post by paul1969 » Fri Dec 30, 2016 9:20 am