Not joined yet? Register for free and enjoy features such as alerts, private messaging and viewing latest posts and topics.

New iPhone, best solution for link to Z4

Mr Whippy

New iPhone, best solution for link to Z4

Post by Mr Whippy » Mon Jul 20, 2009 4:29 pm

I have just got a nice iPhone 3Gs, and want to listen to music in my 2004 Z4. It has standard hifi, no nav.

I have seen aux-in kits, but then I need to navigate using my iPhone still. Are there any kits that allow the head unit to interface with the iPhone (on non-nav setups?)

There seems to be loads of options out there... ie, this:
http://store.apple.com/us/product/TW380 ... NjkxNzI4Mg

seems to be quite handy, charging and having aux link off the phone, and a cradle, and works kinda like a hands free setup, but I doubt my head unit will interface with the iPhone through it which would be nice with MFSW to have that feature. But then again the hands free etc would be handy too.

I am a total novice with all this link up stuff etc, but I know there is probably a great solution out there that looks nice and does a good job :)

Dave
04 3.0i, Titanium Silver, 107s, red m-sport interior

Andy
Lifer
Lifer

Re: New iPhone, best solution for link to Z4

Post by Andy » Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:03 am

intravee ii is absolutely wicked, i bought a classic 120gb for this purpose, but we plugged an iphone 3g in, and it didnt work.. can anyone confirm ?
Imola Z4MR #0026 6 yrs, & 66k so far..

RichardG

Post by RichardG » Tue Jul 21, 2009 2:36 am

It ultimately depends upon what you what to achieve, plus the look you are after, OEM Headunit as opposed to aftermarket, there are kits out there by the likes of Alpine which will give you control of the Iphone through the HU and MFSW(I have a lead at home to try, I'm just not to there to try it at the moment) and when installed with another box of tricks will also give you handsfree.
You just have to decide whether you want to remain as stock as possible or to modify.