Not joined yet? Register for free and enjoy features such as alerts, private messaging and viewing latest posts and topics.

Advice for hydraulic jack and jack stands. First time

2003 - 2009, roadster, coupe, facelift
NaweedMustafa

Post by NaweedMustafa » Tue Oct 10, 2023 12:04 pm

Was wondering if there are any recommendations for hydraulic jacks and jack stands. Mainly to swap the wheels as winter is coming, maybe once in a while lift the car up to check the soft top drain plugs. Anyone has any recommendations? Anything sub 100 (euro) is recommended?

This is my first time doing this so any additional tips, please let me know, such as where to place jack stands and so on, as this is my first ever car and figured it's time invest into such tools.

I did see a listing from a Goodyear car jack but I have a feeling it won't fit under the zed
Screenshot_20231010_162830_Amazon Shopping.jpg
Screenshot_20231010_162830_Amazon Shopping.jpg (148.29 KiB) Viewed 812 times
Last edited by NaweedMustafa on Tue Oct 10, 2023 6:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Current: 2003 3.0is | Sterling Grey | Dream Red
Previous: Bicycle. Never owned a car before

smorris_12

Advise for hydraulic jack and jack stands. First time

Post by smorris_12 » Tue Oct 10, 2023 12:39 pm

You'll need a low profile jack to get under the Z. My standard trolley jacks struggled to get under my 3 series with the sports suspension and there was no way they'd get under the Z. I bought this one:

https://www.halfords.com/tools/garage-w ... 57099.html

I appreciate you're not in the UK, but I'm sure you'll be able to get something similar in the Netherlands. Absolute bargain price at the moment (€46) - I'm sure such things were blindingly expensive years ago as there weren't bargain alternatives.

Out of all of the sets of axle stands I've got, I'd recommend my folding ones. They're not the tallest which suits the Z well and they're bijou and compact when they are folded.
------
Scott