Not joined yet? Register for free and enjoy features such as alerts, private messaging and viewing latest posts and topics.

Questions for other 2.5i manual owners

2003 - 2009, roadster, coupe, facelift
Tuna!

Post by Tuna! » Tue Feb 06, 2024 8:11 am

What RPM do you switch from 1st to 2nd?

I really don’t like 1st because its so damn jerky and slow if i have the slightest roll i can start or shift in 2nd. Usually switch from 1st to 2nd at around 2k rpm maybe sometimes slightly lower. But I feel a lot of times I have a big pause in movement while shifting 1-2 that would probably be solved by shifting later in 1st.

I am new to manual and haven’t had any teacher or given any advice. Not sure if I am doing anything wrong just doing what feels smooth to me.

Also what is the lowest rpm you stay in 5th?

I love the car but I really wish there was a 6th gear lol. It’s tons of fun but feels like the gears are all really close to each other then just revs out the rest of the way.

Zedebee
Lifer
Lifer

Post by Zedebee » Tue Feb 06, 2024 8:37 am

Don’t listen to me as I drive an auto these days, but this is a sports car and should be driven a bit harder than changing up at 2k.

Also, removing the clutch delay valve improves the gear change for most people. Search for CDV on here for members’ experiences.
2003 Maldives Blue 3.0i auto
Previously: Maldives Blue 2.5i manual (its back!) and another, and a Monaco Blue 3.0Si coupe

Tuna!

Post by Tuna! » Tue Feb 06, 2024 9:07 am

Ya i just tried reving out 1st and it smoothed everything out. I’m definitely gonna do the delete too!

enuff_zed
Lifer
Lifer

Post by enuff_zed » Tue Feb 06, 2024 9:14 am

I have a 2.2 which is basically the same. I find the easiest thing is to get out of first asap. I literally use it to start rolling then immediately go to second. The torque is sufficient to not really need first once the car is at walking pace.
So don’t rev it at all really, just clutch up, start to move, second.