Not joined yet? Register for free and enjoy features such as alerts, private messaging and viewing latest posts and topics.

CD Stuck in dashboard drive

Stuart Truman
Lifer
Lifer

CD Stuck in dashboard drive

Post by Stuart Truman » Thu Aug 25, 2011 6:05 pm

So, being the tinkerer and inquisitive person that I am, I was wondering if my CD Player or Autochanger supported MP3 disks. 2004 car and my similar vintage company 3 series did and with no aux port or ipod kit, I thought "let's burn a CD and put it in the drive(s) and test them, what's the worst that could happen?" Well, now I know.

So first piece of advice is THEY DON'T PLAY! (I know, I know, a million people on this board would have told me if I'd asked, but I'm an engineer and male, we don't ask directions or advice)

The second piece of advice, the CD Player will ENDLESSLY retry if it sees a disk it can't read and the end result, it starts sulking and WILL NOT EJECT. (see first piece of advice, don't try this, trust me)

At this point I am not a happy bunny and start researching on this forum and others looking for advice which seems to be threefold (other than you're buggered, take it to a dealer and beg):
a) disconnect the battery which will reset it and then (with a friend handy) reconnect it and press eject before the car's ibus wakes up and starts the whole blessed cycle of trying to read it again
b) get in the car with everything off for 15 minutes until the ibus goes to sleep, then when it's asleep, put the key in the ignition at position 1 and hit eject before the system wakes up. I reckon I hit it near simultaneously and I was too late
c) take the radio out (having researched thoroughly how to take the airvents out safely) and lift the lid and remove it that way.